Kitchen Table


Kitchen Table Suggestions

I asked Ebby to repeat once more what he had said over my kitchen table
in Brooklyn that first time he told me how he had gotten sober.
“Well,” he said, “you know, you get honest with yourself; you make a self-survey; 
you talk it out with the other guy;
you quit living alone
and begin to get straight with the world around by making restitution;
you try the kind of giving that demands no reward either in approval,
prestige, or money; and you ask whatever higher power there is,
even if it is just an experiment,
to help you find the grace to be released from alcoholism.”
The Language of the Heart,  pp. 283-84

Photo Dianna R.

If I should fall from Grace with God

Where no doctor can relieve me

If I’m buried neath the sod

But the angels won’t receive me

Let me go, boys
Let me go, boys
Let me go down in the mud
Where the rivers all run dry
This land was always ours
Was the proud land of our fathers
It belongs to us and them
Not to any of the others
Let them go, boys
Let them go, boys
Let them go down in the mud
Where the rivers all run dry
Bury me at sea
Where no murdered ghost can haunt me
If I rock upon the waves
Then no corpse can lie upon me
Its coming up three, boys
Keeps coming up three, boys
Let them go down in the mud
Where the rivers all run dry
If I should fall from grace with god
Where no doctor can relieve me
If Im buried neath the sod
But the angels wont receive me
Let me go, boys
Let me go, boys
Let me go down in the mud
Where the rivers all run dry



2 Comments on “Kitchen Table”

  1. Anonymous says:

    love this post 🙂

  2. Dan W. says:

    I love the lyrics to the song, but I love the early AA dialog even more. It’s so weird. I JUST got through talking to an alcoholic who has relapsed and is desperately trying to manage his life. Then I remembered this blog. I sure am happy to be sober, and to be doing it long enough that there is a bit of inertia built up in my day to day sober living. Good music helps me have an awesome sober day. Thanks for reminding me of that.


Leave a Reply

