Redneck Serenity Prayer


I ain’t what I want to be .

I ain’t what I ought to be

I ain’t what I will be

But thank you God,

I ain’t what I used to be.

It’s a peaceful thought to know that we don’t have to be any thing other than a sober alcoholic that enjoys life. Many of us have received so many gifts after getting sober.

But we are constantly reminded that all this could disappear if we take that first drink or drug or indulge in addictive behavior.

My treat is diet coke.

That seems like a big indulgence at times when my usual drink is tea or coffee.

When I go really crazy I get sugar-free ice cream.. HaHa! Born to be wild!!

Sunday, my post punk band recorded in a famous studio here in Houston, an incredible experience.

Playing and creating music is my drug of choice now. I don’t have to do it for work.

It is pure pleasure and my experience now is so different from it was when I was using and playing in bands in the late 70s and 80s.

SO much better.

Just like every thing else improves in my life, so does my relationship with the spirit of music.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Born To Be Wild  (LIve)

Steppenwolf



Leave a Reply

