Day 72



On my 90 in 90 AA meetings journey, it’s day 72.

I am really getting how important it is to go to meetings.

In the beginning of my AA recovery I went to so many meetings. For seven years I sometimes went to two meetings a day. I developed many sober friendships. It set a sturdy foundation for me.

After those seven years, I then began to slack off and do one or two meetings a week. One year, I even tried to not go to meetings at all and that was a really bad experiment. I wanted to see if I could do it with out meetings. I didn’t want to be addicted to meetings. I stayed sober, but I began to feel really disconnected. During that time, when I saw my sober friends, I felt a certain longing for closeness, some one who related. I didn’t realize I was longing for the connection to my Higher Power. I had lost a conscious contact with my spiritual self and I really have to be vigilant and conscious to get through a day.  The energy coming from the AA group is what I want to connect  to more than any thing. That energy is the basis of life for me.

.

Not an easy task to carve out time every day for an AA meeting on a daily basis. I wonder how I did it in 1990?

Hell, we carved out plenty of time to get drunk in bars!

The gifts of sobriety are amazing.

One thing I get from being sober, is follow through…When I say I’m gonna do something, I fucking DO IT!!!

Ya.. that is a great gift… Putting your money where your mouth is.

I said I was gonna do 90 meetings in 90 days and I am doing it so far..One day at a time..



Leave a Reply

