Punk Rock and AA Saved Me From Killing Myself and You


In the late 70s punk rock was born and gave way to what people may recognize as tribal, creating a new form of music and fashion. Honestly for me, it was the family of my dreams. I was encouraged to be as wild and angry expressing myself and all the rage inside of me to the fullest. For me, it was a form of expression. I developed lasting friendships that have witnessed a great portion of my life. I will say that AA is somewhat like that for me. Though I am taught to follow the 12 steps and traditions and I am not drunk like before, I am encouraged to question and I am always accepted in my abstract beliefs. I can truly say that both AA and Punk Rock saved my life.

My sober punk rock friend, who was also part of the punk scene back when, says,

“For me it was pretty much the same. For as long as I can remember, I wanted off this planet! Life at home was terrifying and full of rage. All I wanted was out. I started to drink at age 8 and drugs at 9. That was one way out!

Drugs and alcohol took me away from all “this”. They worked till they didn’t. Finally I found relief.  I was also in love with music. As Lou Reed so eloquently put it “it’s my wife and it’s my life”. That applied to drugs, alcohol, and music.

I loved lyrics. Mostly then, they were about drugs and alcohol. Then a friend turned me on to “Punk Rock”. The lyrics were about hate and injustice and they made fun of the status quo.  Right up my alley. They perfectly expressed in words, how I felt. This was my new family, my chosen family. I could finally express my darkest feelings and no one minded. They didn’t care that I was broken. In fact they were broken too!

Very much like AA, we had a common bond.

Over the years (at least 35) some of us were lucky enough to find another way to survive. Unfortunately many didn’t. I miss them. There but for the grace of God, there go I.

There has been a resurgence of old skool punk rock. With that, I have reconnected with some old “warriors” from my past. Some will say it’s dangerous to go to clubs to participate in music.  And I do participate! For me it’s like a high skool reunion only sexier!”

My friend picked this song. Really kinda says it all.

Dead Kennedys

Too Drunk to Fuck 1981


3 Comments on “Punk Rock and AA Saved Me From Killing Myself and You”

  1. KFC says:

    I Luv Punk Rock!! And My Boyfriend!!
    (not always in that order)

  2. Ben says:

    thank you


Leave a Reply

