Fortunate


I had a rescued dog who had been tied up in one of our Houston tropical storms and was terrified of thunder. She had chain marks on her neck and her teeth were worn when I began to foster her. I didn’t know it at the time, but she was already sick when she first came to me. She had kidney disease and died five years after I adopted her at around age nine.

Initially, I tried to find her a home, because I was fostering for a rescue and she was our guest. The rescue found her a home and after she tore up the new family’s bathroom, they returned her to me.

My girl ripped up many things in my home, the molding around the doors, the bed covers, three really strong crates and my God child’s graduation dress. She was always trying to escape the noise of the thunder.

When she was returned, I decided this girl needed to be with us. She had been through so much already and the trauma of being moved from family to family was terribly hard on her, so I officially adopted her. She was so grateful to be part of our lives. She was amazingly funny and loyal.

She was afraid of cameras and camera flashes (she would close her eyes) so I never got really good photos of her. Her thunder phobia was so strong I had to resort to giving her sedatives because after trying swaddling, acupuncture, herbs, thunder noise CDs, pheromones, dog laughter CDs to help her be calm, you name it, we tried it all, a five milligram Valium and drugging her before the storms began, was the only solution.

This dog taught me precious lessons. She taught me patience. She taught me there are no big deals. The only thing that is important is peace and calm and love. The stuff that was destroyed meant nothing. I cared only that she was all right and what I learned about myself was that I cared more about her well-being and that meant everything. I realized I had achieved a stepping stone in recovery and I was stepping out of self-centeredness.

I am so grateful to my girl. I miss her so.

Sweet girl

RIP and thank you for being in my life.

St Francis Prayer

Make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.
Grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

Dead Can Dance (Australian)

How Fortunate The Man With None

1993



Leave a Reply

