Redbirds


We helped a baby Cardinal back into its nest this morning. Mother and Father red bird squawking closely by.

Great way to start Mother’s day. I am so grateful for my mother and my family.

Beautiful day in the sun.

So, I am thinking about how this relates to AA, sobriety, the steps and for me it is just about being in the moment, about not complaining and about seeing all the wonderful gifts we have.

Leonard Cohen

Bird on a Wire 1968

Like a bird on the wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free

Like a worm on a hook
Like a knight from some old-fashioned book
I have saved all my ribbons for thee

If I, if I have been unkind
I hope that you can just let it go by
If I, if I have been untrue
I hope you know it was never to you

Oh, like a baby, stillborn
Like a beast with his horn
I have torn everyone who reached out for me
But I swear by this song
And by all that I have done wrong
I will make it all up to thee

I saw a beggar leaning on his wooden crutch
He said to me, “You must not ask for so much”
And a pretty woman leaning in her darkened door
She cried to me, “Hey, why not ask for more?”

Oh, like a bird on the wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free



Leave a Reply

