The We Journey


When I first expressed an interest in getting sober, a good friend gave me an AA meeting directory and said,

“I am going to mark all my favorite meetings so you can join me.

I told her, “Oh no, this is some thing I need to do alone.”

Little did I get it that, AA is all about the WE .

It isn’t about the, I have to do it alone…

Growing up an only child from a single parent home, I learned to be alone really well. I’m never bored alone. However, the lack of human contact was missing in my world. I isolated, afraid of interacting with people because I felt awkward, special and unique in my pain.

So now, I get it that the first word of the first step is WE.

We admitted we were powerless over alcohol and our lives had become unmanageable.

OK, this would be the dorkiest place to insert the song, We are the World, but yikes! what a shitty song, so here is Culturcide doing, They Aren’t the World.



Leave a Reply

