Humility and Hotness Delusion Syndrome


“To become truly great, one has to stand with people, not above them.”
 Charles de Montesquieu

Sometimes life happens and gives us an opportunity to learn humility. There are photos and videos floating around on Facebook and some videos on the web that make me look just totally fugly, taken at times I was drunk, sick or out of shape or just had a icky face on. There is nothing I can do to remove those images. They just float about in cyber space.  But strangely I have been told that people really dig those images, because they are who I am at the time. So I just accept it and count it as a lesson in humility. Learning to accept me where I am and who I am right now and can look back on the past and let it be…

PUNK ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOL

Besides do I really give a fuck what any one thinks of me?

(not really a humble statement)

I had a teacher once say, “I don’t care if you’re talking about me, at least you’re talking about me.”

Being humble is not an alcoholics forte.

Our strength in sobriety lies in learning the tools of a healthy spiritual life.

Humility or humbleness is a quality of being courteously respectful of others.

It is the opposite of aggressiveness, arrogance, boastfulness, and vanity.

In keeping with this thought, there is a new disease going around specified to men called Hotness Delusion Syndrome.

Hotness Delusion Syndrome, a term coined by Australian demographer Bernard Salt. According to Mr. Salt, some men are suffering from a highly inflated sense of attractiveness.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/middle-aged-men-have-hotness-delusion-syndrome/story-fn7x8me2-1226065959869

Where as an aging woman may look in the mirror and berate herself, an aging man may look in the mirror and see a super, hot guy when what is standing there is truly a not so hot, delusional man. It is a real disease. Sort of the flip side of body image dysmorphia.

Body Image and
Body Dysmorphic Disorder

http://www.athealth.com/Consumer/disorders/bddinterview.html

Humility… whatevah…

Nilsson

Jump into the Fire


One Comment on “Humility and Hotness Delusion Syndrome”

  1. anon says:

    well…..i was digging around the web last night ………all i could see and think is ….what a rare beauty you truly are……despite of having the pleasure of calling you a dear friend……you really are an exotic looking woman……the tone of your perfect color….the depth of your eyes shining deep into your soul……the shining smile which lightens up every space entered……….and you wear your skin so well…….i aspire to have your strength authenticity and ability to….just be who you are….. true humility……

    i have told my husband to check those nose hairs as he ganders in the mirror……

    love the harry nilsson……


Leave a Reply

